Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

About us

The South West School Sport region was first established in 1982, with restructuring occurring several times over the years leading to its present composition.

Geographically the South West School Sport Region extends from the Jandowae area in the east to Hebel in the south, west to Eromanga and north as far as Tambo - Taroom. South West School Sport is part of the Darling Downs and South West education region.

The students who participate in South West School Sport activities at a district, regional or state level come from all sectors including primary, secondary, special schools and schools of distance education. The students range in age from 10 years of age to 19 years of age.

All state and non–state schools within our region are affiliated with South West School Sport. The region is comprised of 20 secondary schools/departments with the non-state to state school ratio being 1:10 and 58 primary schools with a non-state to state school ratio of almost 1:6. Primary Schools range in size from quite small with an enrolment of 2 students to our largest at 539 students. The majority of primary schools in the South West Region, both state and non-state, have a student population of less than 50 (68%). The statistics for the secondary sector indicate that 65% of the schools have a student population of less than 100. All schools in this range being either P-10 or P-12 schools. The remaining secondary schools have populations ranging from 151 to 637.

We have an extensive array of sports on offer to students within the region. 13 – 19 year old school students are offered a choice of 22 sports (41 teams) and 10 – 12 year old students 14 sports (18 teams). The sports offered within the South West Region mirror the State program. South West students are able to further their representative careers, in a number of sports, through participation in the Darling Downs Regional Trials.

For regional trials in the 10 - 12 & 13 - 19 years age divisions teams from each of the seven districts participate. The regional trials in individual sports, swimming, orienteering, cross country, athletics and aquathlon / triathlon are held as 10 - 19yrs events.

Districts: Balonne, Charleville, Chinchilla, Cunnamulla, Miles, Roma and Tara.